CSA Trust 2021 Mike Lynch Award – Call for Nominations

The Chemical Structure Association Trust is calling for nominations for the 2021 Mike Lynch Award.

The CSA Trust is an internationally-recognised, registered charity which promotes education, research and development in fields related to chemical structures and cheminformatics.

The Mike Lynch Award recognises and encourages outstanding accomplishments in education, research and development activities that are related to the systems and methods used to store, process and retrieve information about chemical structures, reactions and properties. The awardee will receive an honorarium and memento, and will be invited to make a presentation at a suitable chemistry conference.

To make a nomination, please submit (a) an account of the nominee’s accomplishments and the specific relevant work that is to be recognized (maximum one page); and (b) a brief biographical sketch, including a statement of academic qualifications, and contact information. These should be submitted by email to the Secretary of the CSA Trust by  May 31, 2020.

Nominations of previous winners of other awards are welcome, provided that the specific relevant work to be recognized for the Mike Lynch Award is distinct from that for which the other award was presented.

All nominations will be reviewed by the CSA Trustees, and the awardee will be announced at the Fall American Chemical Society National Meeting to be held in San Francisco in August 2020.

Mike Lynch is the Professor Emeritus in the Information School of the University of Sheffield, England, and is an acknowledged cheminformatics pioneer. The Mike Lynch Award was instituted in 2002, and the previous winners listed below received their awards and made presentations at the triennial International Conference on Chemical Structures, Noordwijkerhout, Netherlands.

2018:  Rudy Potenzone: 40+ year career as a provider of in-house informatics services and a creator and implementer of innovative informatics software solutions including SciFinder.

2014:  Steve Heller, Alan McNaught, Igor Pletnev, Steve Stein, Dmitrii Tchekhovskoi: conception and development of the IUPAC International Chemical Identifier InChI.

2011:  Engelbert Zass: lifetime career devoted to education in chemical information with an emphasis on database searching and the role of the intermediary.

2008:  Alexander (Sandy) Lawson: major contributions to chemical information handling and structure representation, particularly in the development of the Beilstein database and software.

2005:  Johann Gasteiger: outstanding accomplishments in the fields of computational chemistry and structure elucidation.

2002:  Peter Willett: pioneering work in maintaining and nurturing an academic centre of excellence in cheminformatics teaching and research with an emphasis on computational techniques for the processing of chemical and biological information.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: