CSA Trust 2022 Mike Lynch Award – Call for Nominations

The Chemical Structure Association Trust is calling for nominations for the 2022 Mike Lynch Award. Owing to COVID-19, no award was made in 2021, and we are pleased to re-issue the call for the 2022 award.

The CSA Trust is an internationally recognized, registered charity that promotes education, research, and development in fields related to chemical structures and cheminformatics.

The Mike Lynch Award recognizes and encourages outstanding accomplishments in education, research, and development activities that are related to the systems and methods used to store, process, and retrieve information about chemical structures, reactions, and properties. The awardee will receive an honorarium and memento and will be invited to make a presentation at a suitable chemistry conference.

To nominate an individual, please submit (a) a summary of the nominee’s accomplishments and the specific relevant work that is to be recognized (maximum one page); and (b) a brief biographical sketch, including a statement of academic qualifications and contact information. Please email these documents to the Secretary of the CSA Trust by December 31, 2021.

Nominations of recipients of other awards are welcome, provided that the specific work to be nominated for the Mike Lynch Award is distinct from that for which the other award was presented.

Nominations will be reviewed by the CSA Trustees, and the awardee will be announced prior to the 12th International Conference on Chemical Structures to be held in Noordwijkerhout, Netherlands in June 2022, where the awardee will be invited to give a talk, and the award will be presented.

Mike Lynch is the Professor Emeritus in the Information School of the University of Sheffield, England, and is an acknowledged cheminformatics pioneer. The Mike Lynch Award was instituted in 2002, and the previous winners listed below received their awards and made presentations at the triennial International Conference on Chemical Structures in Noordwijkerhout.

Mike Lynch Award Winners

2018:  Rudy Potenzone – 40+ year career as a provider of in-house informatics services and a creator and implementer of innovative informatics software solutions including SciFinder.

2014:  Steve Heller, Alan McNaught, Igor Pletnev, Steve Stein, Dmitrii Tchekhovskoi – conception and development of the IUPAC International Chemical Identifier InChI.

2011:  Engelbert Zass – lifetime career devoted to education in chemical information with an emphasis on database searching and the role of the intermediary.

2008:  Alexander (Sandy) Lawson – major contributions to chemical information handling and structure representation, particularly in the development of the Beilstein database and software.

2005:  Johann Gasteiger – outstanding accomplishments in the fields of computational chemistry and structure elucidation.

2002:  Peter Willett – pioneering work in maintaining and nurturing an academic centre of excellence in cheminformatics teaching and research with an emphasis on computational techniques for the processing of chemical and biological information.

%d bloggers like this: